SewIt

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Quilting I will go

I’ve always admired those women who could take a hodgepodge of scrap material, cut it up into into small squares and end up with work of art. A beautiful quilt that can not only be used in the home but passed on for generations to come. And if well cared for can go up in value! Well I’m going to take a stab at this wonderful art form. I purchased a new sewing/embroidery machine last month and have signed up for My First Quilt Workshop at The Old Craft Store. It’ll be one day a week for the next 4 weeks and at the end I’ll have completed a small quilt – big enough to wrap the first grandbaby in (whenever he/she may come) or to use as a sofa throw or wall hanging.

I should be getting my supply list any day now and am looking forward to sewing again. With the economy, improving my sewing skills will come in handy and I hope to make some lasting friendships as well. I was thinking I would take this up when I retired but doesn’t look like that may not happen for a very long time and why put off what I can do today. 

Once I’ve learned the proper quilting process, my next project I want to make a quilt out of all my children’s old t-shirts –  from camp, girl scouts, boy scouts, sports, school spirit, and vacation souvenir t-shirts. I welcome any sewing or  quilting tips and  ideas.

April 2, 2009 - Posted by | Quilting | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

